It’s been a busy week, but a great one. I assure you that I’ll post all about my parents’ visit, our carriage ride, our day-trip to Athens, my new Bible study, our Tastefully Simple party/cookout/game night, dinner at The Crab Shack, post-dinner walks on the beach and much more…

But for now, I’m taking a challenge. A 100-push-up challenge. I read about this all over the blogosphere, and I thought why not? Check out the challenge details. I took the initial test and was able to get to 20 good-form push-ups before my arms and abs held up the white flag. It’s hard to think that in six short weeks (assuming I stick 100% to this training plan) I’ll be able to do 100 reps consecutively. Shoot, if I’m able to do that, I’ll post a of video it.

Consider taking the challenge yourself. The benefits of push-ups are pretty incredible; they’re not just about your arms. They work your entire midsection, chest, shoulders, etc. I’m not a personal trainer (maybe one day…), but if you coupled good-quality push-ups with multiple sets of squats (and perhaps some assisted pull-ups), I think you’d be getting a total body workout–from a few simple exercises!

As far as push-up overachievers go, the world record for the most push-ups in one hour was set in 2005 by Doug Pruden of Canada–1,781. And the record for the most consecutive push-ups? 10,507 set in 1980 by Minoru Yoshida.

So doing 100? Totally feasible! Who’s on board?

I must say, I’m very much looking forward to challenging my younger brother to a push-up competition once I reach the 100-rep mark. He’s a rising senior at a military university and has heard his fair share of “drop and give me 30,” but I doubt it’s ever been 100.

