I was in a scholarship pageant–not a big-haired, swim-suit clad, beauty pageant–but a scholarship pageant in high school. Our opening dance number was to that song, and it was indeed, 1999. Prince never ceases to amuse me. By the way, I have no clue what’s going on in that video, but that was the only place I could find the 1999 song.

Anyhow, partying like it was 1999 is precisely what David and I did from Thursday of last week until Sunday night. Thursday was, of course, Valentine’s Day, and Sunday was our one-year anniversary, so we had plenty to celebrate.

On Valentine’s Day, my mom’s birthday, we exchanged cards in the AM over homemade blueberry muffins. Mmm! I got really dressed up and surprised David at work for lunch, and little did I know he had to quickly hide the flowers on his desk that he planned to give to me that night. Oops. I didn’t see anything, though, so it worked out.

That evening, we ordered take-out Chinese (delicious) for dinner for a treat. Afterward, David made Mexican hot chocolate from scratch–lots of spices and such. It turned out pretty good. We then made “decadent chocolate truffles” (aka Oreo balls) made from crushed up Oreos mixed with cream cheese, rolled into balls and dipped into chocolate. Amazing. We got to savor those treats with a fire in the fireplace in the background. So fun!

For our anniversary, we went to NYC as noted in a previous post, but we wanted to celebrate on the actual day of our anniversary too. So we went to dinner at Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse in downtown Pittsburgh. Unbelievable steak, let me tell you. They actually served the steak on a 500F plate so that the meat was hot from the first bite to the last. A-mazing. For the first time ever, I didn’t have any room for dessert, and for those of you who know me well, I can always make room. Not Sunday night, though. We enjoyed leftovers from dinner on Monday, not quite as good reheated, but still tasty.

We came back to the apartment and watched our wedding video from the rehearsal all the way through the ceremony. It was so neat to relive that day–that perfect day. To all of you who read this who played a part in our wedding–whether as a wedding party member, a guest, a vendor, etc, thank you so, so much. You made that day one of the best days of our lives and the perfect way to kick off our married life together. Fantastic.

After the video, we read back through a journal that we kept during the honeymoon. Once again, incredible to relive our fun times in Stowe, Vermont. I so wish that we could go back to the Green Mountain Inn and go cross country skiing through the three feet of snow that Stowe got just days before we arrived. Spectacular memories.

Now we’re starting into our second year of marriage, and we’re more in love now than we were last year. It’s kind of crazy how that happens, but we can’t wait to see what the future holds.

