I sometimes err on the worry and doubt side of things instead of consistently trusting that God has everything under control. Don’t get me wrong, I have a tremendous amount of trust and faith in God. But like any human, I have my moments of doubt.

Over the past week or so, I have been praying that God would make it undeniably clear whether or not I should make a decision that I’ve been pondering. It’s a decision about quitting something, and historically speaking, I’m not a quitter. Period. It’s hard to even consider.

So, over the past week, I’ve been introduced in one way or another to scripture about trials, not worrying, enduring, keeping faith, etc. I was messaged on Facebook by someone I’ve never met before who encouraged me without even knowing it, I believe. Then I opened my Bible study book for tonight’s meeting. The topic? Endurance. Not quitting. Pushing through quitting points.

That said, I think anyone would say, “You shouldn’t quit. It’s obvious God’s moving in your life and telling you to keep pushing.” But for whatever reason, I feel like I might be overanalyzing-as I tend to do in situations such as this. Or maybe I’m looking so hard for a sign that everything suddenly becomes a sign, you know?

In this situation, quitting would be the easiest out in the short-term. Long-term, though, I do believe I’d regret it.

I’m praying that God will work in my heart and open my eyes to the truth in the situation. I don’t want to be a doubting Thomas or a worry-wart. One of my friends brought to light the following verses today just by posting the reference online. The verses are familiar to me, but I hadn’t read them in a long, long time. I’m working to abide by them and to not doubt, but to trust:


Matthew 6:25-34
“That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life–whether you have enough food and drink, or enough clothes to wear. Isn’t life more than food, and your body more than clothing? Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are?

Can all your worries add a single moment to your life?

And why worry about your clothing? Look at the lilies of the field and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. And if God cares so wonderfully for wildflowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will surely care for you. Why do you have so little faith?

So don’t worry about these things, saying, ‘What will we eat? What will we drink? What will we wear?’ These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but your heavenly Father already knows all your needs. Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.

So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring it’s own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.”

