1. engaged in action, occupied, in use
2. full of activity, bustling
3. foolishly or intrusively active
4. full of distracting detail
5. Me

I’m trying to change that fifth definition. So often, I feel that I’m constantly defining myself by my hectic days and busy nights. Instead of trying to enhance my character, strengthen my faith, encourage my friends in their Christian walks, I tend to easily fill my time with things significant to me, but insignificant in the long run.

There are so many good things that life has to offer, but opting to participate in too many of them is, well…too much of a good thing can be bad for you. Right? Part of David’s and my new year’s eve was spent figuring out what activities in our life are good, but should be cut for sanity’s sake.

Before cutting anything out, we established what our priorities were (i.e. time with God–quiet times and church, time with each other–date night, at least seven hours of sleep a night, three work outs a week, etc), then figured out what activities compromised those priorities. It was pretty clear actually. So we made some changes, and we already feel so much lighter in spirit.

Cleaning out the activities of life can be as tedious as cleaning out an over-stuffed closet. It can take time, but it’s worth it, for sure. The beginning of a new year is a great time to do just that.

